Summer Life

Hot.  That was the temperature last week.  My kids were begging me to break out the water balloons and the off-brand slip-and-slide and the water hose.  I resisted at first, not wanting to be bothered running around outside, getting wet and fighting the heat.

Surprisingly, I started to have FUN.  I can’t even remember the last time I had fun in all caps.

Winter was long and it was brutal.  Two words:  sump pump.  For those of you unfamiliar with a sump pump (i.e. anyone NOT living in the country), it is a pump placed inside a hole in your basement that continuously runs to keep your basement from flooding with water.  If it shuts off, your basement floods.

So during a horrible winter/ice/sleet/freeze-your-ass-off storm, the power went out. My dad – who I am indescribably grateful to for always being there for us in my lifetime of child, teen, and adult emergencies – brought a gas-powered pump.  Then we (me) had to shoot the water out of the basement with a big hose.  Someone (me) had to hold the hose out in the freezing cold and shoot cold water out into the blowing wind and piling snow drifts.

I did this on the hour every hour for 48 hours.

So even though I don’t like summer’s heat, this year is a little different.  My sister-in-law (another one of those persons who always seems to be there in my (emotional) emergencies), came over, and the water fun began.  The kids loved chasing me, my sister-in-law, and their daddy around the yard smacking us with water balloons that broke on contact, drenching us in the clean, cool, fresh water from the well, as we screamed and shouted and pretended we didn’t want to get soaked.

The day wound down with some trampoline jumping and sunning, along with a BBQ and an adults-only bonfire under a glowing moon and a sky full of twinkling stars.

 

 

One response to “Summer Life

  1. I love simple fun moments like those.
    Thanks for noticing my absence and leaving a heartfelt comment to ask where I am. I haven’t started a new blog. I lost someone I was really close to and just haven’t been able to write anymore, not for lack of trying. Your kind comment really touched me. Thanks again for your thoughts. I hope all is well with you.

Leave a Reply

