Hey, You…You’re Not Perfect

Me:  I know, but it’s really hard sometimes because I really expect perfection from myself, and I am in reality so far off of base that I can’t even describe it.

Me:  Come on, you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself.

Me:  I know, I know.

Me:  If you were talking to a friend, would you place demands on them the way you do to yourself?  Talk to yourself like a friend would.

Me:  I know, but all that positive self-talk b.s. is just that.  B.S.

Me:  No, it’s not.  Have you ever tried it?  Have you ever honestly tried it?

Me:  …uh, no.

Me:  Okay, then.

Me:  I make mistakes.  I make mistakes, and that’s okay.

Me:  You’re right; it IS okay.

Leave a Reply

