Change Is Not Always A Bad Thing

This has been a weird year.

I’ve had a breakdown, recovered from the breakdown, lost my job, gained a job, switched a job, had my son start preschool, and now I’m starting a new job again at the same place where I’m working and taking my son out of preschool.  This is very different from my previous years where everything seemed to go along rather smoothly.  This year I’ve had lots of bumps in the road.

But it’s not all about the jobs.  Life isn’t all about where you work, although if you had asked me several years ago, that’s what it seemed to be all about.  Now I realize that I have more time to spend with my kids than I ever had before, more time to spend with my husband than ever before.  Maybe money isn’t everything.

That seems pretty obvious.  But sometimes, it’s hard to remember.  When I get to wake my kids up in the morning, it’s the best part of the day.  Seeing Kareem’s sleepy face, eyes still puffy, hair disheveled, drool caked onto his face, there’s no place I’d rather be.

Sometimes simple reminders of what counts in this life are really what we need the most.  I thank Allah for giving me my health, my kids, and my job.  What more could I ask for?

How has this past year been for you?  What challenges have you had to overcome?

2 responses to “Change Is Not Always A Bad Thing

  1. This past year has not been so great. Challenges: Postpartum Depression, fatigue, smoking, looking for a job….I think those are the big ones. Yuck. Its starting to look up though!

    • I had postpartum depression with my first one. It was horrendous and lasted too long. At least I got help for it, though.

      Glad things are looking brighter for you!

Leave a Reply

