Looking Up

Sometimes I wish I was young again.

Going up north to visit my mother in physical rehabilitation has taken its toll on her and me.  I’ve come to realize that my recovery and hers have marked similarities; one being that it is painfully slow.  I want so bad to be better, just to snap my fingers and have all the pain and the agony taken out of me, the sadness that is my depression.  But it lingers on.

Another similarity between us is that we have to keep positive attitudes if we’re going to survive.  The negativity and negative thoughts are so prevalent; it’s hard to ignore their power.  They surge in like waves of the ocean, sweeping in suddenly and powerfully, and it takes those small reminders to keep yourself above water.  One great big powerful antidote for me is my little baby:

He’s my little optimistic sunshine to each day.

4 responses to “Looking Up

  1. Hi there! I was reading your blog and I felt like leaving a comment.
    I love the sincerity and the deepness of your posts! Its been a while since your last one! I hope everything is good with your family and kids and that your anxiety is gone. I’ve suffered from depression/panic attacks once in my life and I can say those were the darkest days of my life.

    I will continue reading your older posts, specially the series for new muslims. I am “close” to reverting to Islam.

    Keep going, keep fighting, keep praying and raising beautiful children and I am sure you will rewarded in the next life.

    B

    • B – thank you for reading my blog! I’m excited to hear from you. Please know that if you have any questions or any concerns regarding Islam, I would love to talk with you about them. Post me a response if you are interested in sharing more about yourself! LonLon558

  2. When you feel down look at this picture, rather just look at you child and know they need you to be guided to be loved and nurtured. Know that you are the one who have to teach them everything and how them unconditional love. there will be time when it is not easy but once you see their innocent face you will find the strength to go on . Take care and have faith in yourself.

    • Thank you for this comment – my kids do give me strength to go on – I am so grateful for them in my life. Things have been much better than they were back a few months ago, so I have been able to focus on myself again and get back into the swing of things. Thank you for your uplifting words; they are much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

