Worries and Distress

A long time ago, I was on an islamic forum, and a kind Muslim brother gave me a link to the writings of a Shaykh Muhammad Salih Al Munajjid (peace and blessings be upon him) – here is an excerpt from those writings, of ways in which we can fight the worries of the life of this world, something I battle with daily:

 

“6.  A Surprisingly Effective Remedy:  Remembering Death

The Prophet (salalahu alayhi wa salaam) said:  “Remember frequently the one who will destroy all your pleasures:  death, for there is no one who remembers death when in straightened circumstances, but his situation will become easier, and there is no one who remembers death during times of ease, but his circumstances will be straightened.”
It goes on to say that when one is worried about what will happen in the future, there is a du’a (or prayer) that can be said.   The English translation is this:

“Oh Allah, make me adhere properly to my religion, on which all my affairs depend;
make this world good for me in which is my livelihood;
make my Hereafter good for me, in which is my ultimate destiny;
make my life increase in every good thing and make my death a respite from every evil.”

Insha’allah.

Leave a Reply

