Importance of Prayer

I went to the masjid on Friday to speak with my Imam.  I strongly encourage all new muslims to learn as much as they can through other muslims.  It is so difficult to be on your own while you are searching for answers – trying to seek out websites on the internet, trying to build up the courage to approach an intimidating-looking masjid for the first time.

Seek out your sisters in Islam.  Seek out your brothers in Islam.  It will make everything so much easier for you.  At least it has for me.

I spoke with the imam and he reminded me of the importance of the prayer.  But even that in itself can feel overwhelming when you first start to become familiar with Islam.  This particular Imam had guided me 4 years ago that even if I didn’t know the words in Arabic (which I didn’t at the time) that even just following the motions during the prayer and saying “Allahu Akbar” (“God is Greater”) in my head was something Allah would accept as prayer.  Nothing has to be perfect because “Allahu Alim” (“Allah knows best.”)

When I spoke with him recently he reminded me again of how important the prayer is.  So if you are struggling, please review my Series for New Muslims section on this.  And also, feel free to post a comment if you have any questions.  I am happy to answer anything I can about how to pray and how to get started.

Being a new muslim can feel overwhelming and scary.  And sometimes, it can feel very lonely.  But there are many, many sisters and brothers out there who are there to help, as I am discovering for myself right now.  Please try to reach out, and if you reach out and find no one to help, ask Allah for guidance and for a friend.  That’s what I did, and Allah hears all our prayers.

One response to “Importance of Prayer

  1. As salamu alai kum sis!

    Alhamdulillah, your posts are amazing! :-) happy to see another revert sister in Islam. May Allah swt make it easy for u. Ameen.

    Wslm.

Leave a Reply

